Paranormal

An Interview with Michelle Zink and a Giveaway!

Exactly one week ago, the awesome Michelle Zink celebrated her third book’s birthday! Circle of Fire is the last book in the Prophecy of the Sisters trilogy.

With time dwindling but her will to end the Prophecy stronger than ever, Lia sets out on a journey to find the remaining keys, locate the missing pages of the Prophecy, and convince her sister Alice to help–or risk her life trying. Lia has her beloved Dimitri by her side, but Alice has James, the man who once loved her sister–and maybe still does. James doesn’t know the truth about either sister, or the prophecy that divides them. And Alice intends to keep it that way. 

There are some secrets sisters aren’t meant to share. Because when they do, it destroys them. This stunning conclusion to Michelle Zink’s Prophecy of the Sisters trilogy will make saying good-bye bittersweet for readers.

To continue the celebration, I’ve got an interview with Michelle and a giveaway!

1. Which of your favorite myths made it into the series? Were there any you wanted to include or reference but couldn’t?

I always have too many ideas, not enough time. Story of my life! But I felt good about the myths I was able to include in this one. Anything more would have felt too cluttered, I think.

2. Why did you choose to set PROPHECY in that particular time period? Did it make the writing easier or more difficult?

I chose the Gothic time period because I thought it was a fitting backdrop to the story. I wanted to create a Gothic, otherworldly story that would transport readers to another place. Also, it’s hard to create this kind of mystery in a modern era. Now when we want answers on virtually anything, we can find them on our computers and even our phones. Setting the story in this era forced Lia to search for answers the old fashioned way.

3. Fate and destiny play a huge role in the series. What do you believe in?

I believe we all have an optimum fate, that is, a path that leads to all the things we’re sort of meant to have and do in our lifetimes. That said, I do believe it’s possible to deviate from the path through free will. I just haven’t been at my happiest when I’ve done so. I tell my children that when doors seem to open in front of them, that’s probably the path they’re meant to take. Not that walking through them is always easy, but I’ve found that when one door keeps slamming in my face and others keep opening, the universe is trying to tell me something.

3. Which literary heroines would Alice and Lia get along with? All the strong ones like Elizabeth Bennett and Bekka Cooper!

4. Out of the three novels, which one was the most difficult to finish? The first one, because I hadn’t sold a book yet and had no way of knowing if all my blood, sweat, and tears would result in a book that would be read by anyone other than me.

5. Did you write a lot of backstory for the series? If so, which character ended up with the most backstory?

Not really. I try to only include backstory that serves the plot and/or is critical to the reader’s understanding of the character. In this case, all the books are told from Lia’s point of view, so most of the backstory was hers. Sonia and Luisa had some, too, and I included just enough of it so the reader could understand them.

6. What are your favorite characters’ favorite books?

I like to think my characters would love Tamora Pierce’s books and, of course, Wuthering heights and anything by Jane Austen.

7. What made you want to write about Lia and not Alice? 

I’d love to write about Alice! But for this story, I felt that making her an enigma was more powerful. I really didn’t want the reader to understand her all at once, and that’s typically what happens with the narrator in a story. I wanted Alice to unfold like the beautiful mystery she is.

8. Do you trust inspiration or hard work more when it comes to writing?

Hard work, without a doubt. If you only write when you’re inspired, it’s going to be awfully hard to produce a steady stream of work, to say nothing of making a living at it. In fact, I’d say I only feel truly inspired about 30% of the time. The other 70% is pure butt-in-chair-hands-at-keyboard-meet-my-word-count time.

10. If you could invite your favorite literary characters to dinner, who would they be and why?

Odd Thomas (Dean Koontz), Holden Caulfield, and Heathcliff. What a dinner party that would be, eh?

11. What are you most grateful for, as an author?

The privilege of writing for a living and sharing my stories with so many people all over the world.

Michelle has also graciously offered a signed copy of Circle of Fire to one lucky winner! What can you do to win?

Just click that little button in my sidebar and you’ve got your mandatory entry! Once you’ve done that, just fill out this form, which has some other ways for you to rack up entries.

This giveaway runs from August 9 (TODAY) to August 21 at midnight and I’ll announce the winner on August 23. Michelle will be mailing the book out herself.

Thanks for reading and Michelle, you rock!

Michelle’s website
Michelle’s Goodreads
Michelle’s Twitter

9 replies »

  1. Fantastic interview, Angel! I actually hadn’t heard of Michelle Zink’s trilogy before you tweeted about it a few weeks ago, but it sounds absolutely fantastic. *adds to piling reading list* (And thank you so much for the giveaway!)

  2. I adore Michelle and her writing, any time I see an interview with her I instantly click on it! Or really ANYthing with her name on it I have to click it =P AND THANK YOU FOR THE GIVEAWAY!!! I’ve been DYING for Circle of Fire!

Leave a Reply

