life and times of angel

A Hodgepodge of Words

It’s been two-and-a-half months since I started this blog and only about two weeks since I’ve been posting regularly. In that time, a bunch of cool things have happened which make this uphill climb worth it.

I recently received an e-mail from Megan McCafferty of the Jessica Darling series! I was chosen as one of ten bloggers who’ll be interviewing Megan for the SLOPPY FIRSTS 10th anniversary celebration. My questions range from the silly (involving Krispy Kremes) to the serious (what Megan values most as a writer), so I’m definitely excited to see what she has to say.

I’m also interviewing Michelle Zink! Her PROPHECY OF THE SISTERS series is a particular favourite of mine and with Circle of Fire coming out this week, I thought it’d be a perfect chance to talk to her about Alice and Lia.

Shifting to my own personal writing, I’ve joined Camp NaNoWriMo for the month of August. My WIP is untitled as of this post, though I do have a tentative synopsis:

Medea doesn’t know what to think when she finds her brother Malcolm, covered in soot and badly injured, in an abandoned train station. After all, she’d just left him hooked up to three different machines in the hospital. This Malcolm is mean and sarcastic and worse of all, he tells Medea that the brother she’s known all her life is a changeling. Now Medea must figure out who’s telling the truth and whether or not she’s willing to be who Malcolm says she is: the daughter of a crackpot fae inventor with the power to bring down all of Faerie.

I got the idea for this novel while on the Yonge-University-Spadina train. Parts of St. Clair Station are pretty much abandoned, and I started wondering about all the things that can happen in places like that. Medea is a character I’ve had bouncing around in my head for a few months now. So far, I’m on track, but I’m going to have to work harder next week, what with all my volunteer commitments. If you want to add me as a Camper friend, my profile can be found here.

I’m also doing some freelance work for a family friend. He’s a photographer who asked me to help with his bio and other publicity stuff. It’s different from what I usually do, but I welcome the chance to learn something new. It is going to be a little challenging to juggle everything, though.

Speaking of losing writing time, I had to play catch-up for the last two days because I went to Ottawa over the weekend.

Parliament Hill, during the Changing of the Guards

"Haunted" Chateau Laurier, taken while on the Original Haunted Walk of Ottawa

My brother and I

Parliament Hill lit up for Mos-Aika

The gorgeous Notre-Dame Cathedral in downtown Ottawa

I had a great time! 36 hours was definitely not long enough for a proper visit, so my family and I are making plans to return sometime this month.

That’s pretty much everything that’s going on in my life right now. My library books are growing in number, so you can expect 10-15 reviews to go up this week. Never let it be said that I’m a slacker. *stocks up on Red Bull*

2 replies »

Leave a Reply

