Game of Thrones

Show Up: July 29, 2011

Every Friday, I’m going to be posting about the shows I’m currently watching, in an attempt to stay on track.

This week, I’m catching up on Sirens, a British dark comedy about an ambulance service.

I started watching this show mainly because of Richard Madden. His portrayal of Robb Stark on HBO’s Game of Thrones got me hooked and when I found out that he was going from chilly Westeros to modern-day Britain, I knew I had to check it out. I’m especially amused by his character Ashley, who’s as different from Robb as their settings.

Sirens isn’t the usual laugh-out-loud sitcom, though it does have its moments. Often, the three EMTs–or emergency medical technicians–have to face their own insecurities and fears in the middle of the work day. There’s no time for them to pretend they’re not okay. The humour strikes when they find themselves stuck in situations of their own making.

That said, it’s not for everyone. The language can be sarcastic at best, crass at the worst. If you watch the show, you should be prepared for nudity, blood and sexual situations involving both straight and gay couples. After watching shows like Game of Thrones, Rome and Spartacus, I’m pretty desensitized to anything shows throw at me, so I get to focus on the dark humour and it really is hilarious.

What are you watching this week? Have you seen any of the shows I mentioned above?

Leave a Reply

