Film Reviews

Quit Playing (Hunger) Games With My Heart

Entertainment Weekly has just released the first official photos of Josh Hutcherson and Liam Hemsworth as Peeta Mellark and Gale Hawthorne respectively.

I love the series, but ever since they announced the casting for Gale and Peeta, I’ve been iffy about the film. Jennifer Lawrence is a great Katniss and I’m excited to see what she does with the character. However,  Josh doesn’t have the sweet-yet-rugged edge I was looking for in Peeta and Liam Hemsworth seems like such an out-of-the-ballpark choice for Gale.

I’m not too fussed about Gale, and Liam looks pretty believable in this photo shoot. My Peeta was always Hunter Parrish of Weeds and 17 Again-fame.

In fact, have a look at the performance that made me go “HE IS MY PEETA FOREVER.”

There’s just no letting go for this particular HUNTER-GAMES supporter, but maybe a turn as Finnick Odair might satisfy my heart.

The Hunger Games opens in theatres on March 23, 2012.

What do you think of the casting? Are you excited for the film?

1 reply »

  1. I agree. I’m not sure about Peeta or Gale. But then again, I say that about a lot of book to movie characters and they usually end up being a pretty good choice.

    Woody Harrelson is still gonna play Haymitch, right? He’s nothing like I picture as I was reading the books but I def think Woody can play the part well.

Leave a Reply

