Off the Bookshelf

Off the Bookshelf: July 26, 2011

Off the Bookshelf is a post dedicated to the books I’m currently reading, and will go up every Tuesday here on Mermaid Vision Books.

This week, I’ve got a nice mix of library books, ARCs and new releases:

I’m reading this on HarperTeen’s Browse Inside feature, which is a godsend for new bloggers like myself. (You can find the widget on my sidebar.)

I loved Paranormalcy and Evie’s sassy attitude. It was definitely a fun ride and I can’t wait to sink my teeth into the sequel.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thing you’ll quickly learn about me is that I love dystopians. It’s a love affair that began with The Giver at age 8 and shows no sign of stopping. I’m surprised I haven’t heard of this book  before this year, but I’m glad I have it now.

Birthmarks have always fascinated me, because they, more than anything else, have so many possible interpretations. It’ll be interesting to see how O’Brien uses them to build her future.

 

 

 

 

 

I started this last night before I went to  bed, and so far it’s nothing too impressive. I like KJ and the mysterious Robbie definitely threw me for a twist around page 30. Here’s hoping it gets more fun/romantic soon!

 

 

 

 

 

 

I got this off NetGalley yesterday and powered through half of the book before I had to stop myself. I read a lot of contemporary romance novels these days, and Shannon Stacey’s voice is just the right mix of fun and modern romance that I’ve been looking for.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 If I was going to be really honest, the only reason I picked up this book was because of the Edgar Allan Poe connection. I haven’t started it yet, but I’m hoping it’s less cheesy than the cover makes it look. I’m intrigued by Varen despite myself.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What are you reading this week?

Leave a Reply

