life and times of angel

Reverie: July 20, 2011

“I, for one, like chaos. Chaos looks good on me.”

I racked my brain for about fifteen minutes trying to think of the perfect introduction, and I think that quote from Ally Carter’s Uncommon Criminals is an excellent way to start.

So. My name’s Angel, I’m 22 years old, and I have an unhealthy obsession with books. For as long as I can remember, bookstores have been my favourite places and I’m never far away from a pen and paper. My parents were never really able to censor what I read because I read too quickly for them to keep up. On average, I can do about five to seven books in a week, ten if I’m really bored.

About four years ago, I decided to channel that madness into my studies. I’m now the proud recipient of a bachelor’s degree in fine arts, major in creative writing. Graduating from a university so far away from the North American literary scene gave me a new perspective on the industry, and made me want to work harder to gain a place in that industry.

What are my favourite books, you may ask? Off the top of my head, I would say:

> Looking for Alaska, John Green

> Perfect Fifths, Megan McCafferty

> The Adoration of Jenna Fox, Mary E. Pearson

> Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, J.K. Rowling

> Never Let Me Go, Kazuo Ishiguro

> To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee

These books aren’t just emotionally powerful, but well-written too. I have a lot of faith in writers who try to talk about the dark things, the events and characters that we don’t want to meet. To me, writing is one of the greatest things anyone can choose to pursue, because they can only get better and learn about the world around them.

I’m really excited about this blog and I hope you are too. Feel free to leave a comment, whether it’s positive or negative. I love books and I’m glad I have a place to share that with other people.

P.S. Elana Johnson is hosting a giveaway of Jay Asher’s new book The Future of Us over at her blog! I’ve been looking forward to this book for a few months now, especially since I grew up in the AOL generation. Definitely excited to read it in November!

Categories: life and times of angel

Tagged as: ,

Leave a Reply

