Tuesday Tune-Up

Tuesday Tune-Up: Gabrielle Aplin

Gabrielle-AplinTuesday Tune-Up is a monthly feature on music that influences my writing and/or reminds me of books I love. Have a suggestion for an artist I should check out? Let me know in the comments!

The Discovery: A friend of mine turned me onto Gabrielle Aplin’s music with the gorgeous “Please Don’t Say You Love Me” a few months ago, and I’ve had so many days since where I can’t listen to anything else.

The Music: Like many new artists these days, Aplin started with YouTube covers of favourite singers, and they ranged from Cee Lo Green to Paramore to Katy Perry. 

Her EPs showcase her breathy voice and creative melodies, and her album “English Rain” brings both of those qualities in full force. I love the vulnerability in her lyrics, and how it’s also reflected in the concepts for her music videos.

Off the Record: 

And fools rush in
And I’ve been the fool before
This time I’m gonna slow it down
‘Cause I think this could be more
The thing I’m looking for

I know I’m going to enjoy an artist’s music if I can related one or more of their songs to a work-in-progress, and this song definitely fits the bill. I particularly love the escalation of the music.

You are the snowstorm
I’m purified
The darkest fairytale
In the dead of night

Haunting and simple, Salvation is my favourite track off her album “English Rain.”

You and I are passed our dancing days
I said it’s not your fault, I lied
I don’t have time to watch you cry
I’m thinking Romeo must die

There’s an ethereal quality to this live performance that’s reminiscent of Ellie Goulding in the best way.

In the stillness of remembering what you had
And what you lost
And what you had
And what you lost

I love Bastille, so this cover pushed all my buttons (I may or may not have had it on repeat during my last writing session). Their voices blend together so well, and I love the new composition.

4 replies »

Leave a Reply

