Guest Posts

[blog tour] An Ode to Spaceship Captains: CRESS

Cress-blog-tour-banner

Rapunzel, Rapunzel, let down your–satellite? The third installment of the brilliant Lunar Chronicles introduces readers to Cress, the clever young Lunar who’s been keeping an eye on Cinder. Her escape from the only place she’s ever known as home–a satellite orbiting Earth–doesn’t just send her off on her first adventure, it also changes the game for every single character in the series. And yes, there are even some kisses in store.

But before you climb up into your own tower to read Cress, don’t forget to check out the blog tour! Today, Marissa Meyer waxes poetic about some of the captains that have made her weak in the knees, a post I’m sure Captain Thorne would very much appreciate (and maybe take as a challenge.) Enjoy!

An Ode to Spaceship Captains
By Marissa Meyer

11 Ode - Han SoloWe all have that fantasy that gets our engines running—
Whether the alpha male, the boy next door, or even dear prince charming.
But I crave no sultry vampires, and a rock star would never do.
All my dream guy needs is a spaceship and a crew.

It began when I was just a tyke, my first crush yet to have,
When I met a roguish scoundrel, and thought, he doesn’t seem so bad.
When Leia said, “I love you,” and he grinned and said, “I know,”
Ever after I knew my heart would belong to Han Solo.

As I got older I came to learn of the first of his kind,
And I confess I’ll swoon the same for Shatner or Chris Pine.
Every time he ends a monologue with that daredevil smirk,
I understand why all the girls fall for James T. Kirk.

kirk

11 Captain MalSometime later I heard about a show called “Firefly,”
And thought—this is the best thing ever! May this show never die!
Thrilling heroics and cowboys in space, it needs no rationale—
Forevermore I’ll be a Browncoat, thanks to Captain “Tight Pants” Mal.

With my confession now revealed, I suppose it must be fate,
That one day my own spaceship captain I’d create.
He has swagger and charisma and a jacket well-worn,
Now I can only hope that readers, too, will love my Captain Thorne.

Thank you for stopping by, Marissa! (I’ll admit to my own fondness for James Kirk later.)

Want more CressClick the link below and enter to win a paperback copy of Cinder, a paperback copy of Scarlet, a hardcover of Cress + a Cress comb!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

I’ll be picking winners on February 4. (US/Canada only)

Cress Blog Tour:

January 20: That Artsy Reader Girl

January 22: MacTeenBooks

January 23: Refracted Light Reviews

January 24: Love Is Not a Triangle

January 27: YA Bibliophile

January 28: The Irish Banana Review

January 29: Forever Young Adult

January 30: Alexa Loves Books

January 31: FicFare

February 3: Mundie Moms

–and find out more about Ms. Meyer in my interview with her.

Pre-Order Cress and send in your receipt! The first 1,000 people who do will get an exclusive Cress comb! More details if you clicky click~ (US only)

Marissa is also heading out on tour, and you can find out all the dates here~

Want to find out more about the Cinder universe? Check out Glitches for only 99 cents, and the newest short story The Queen’s Army for only 99 cents. You can also download the first five chapters of Cinder and Scarlet for free! And don’t forget to become a fan of The Lunar Chronicles on Facebook, and follow The Lunar Chronicles on Tumblr

4684322About Marissa

Marissa Meyer lives near Seattle with her husband and their three cats. She’s a fan of most things geeky (Sailor Moon, Firefly, color-coordinating her bookshelf…) and will take any excuse to put on a costume. She may or may not be a cyborg.

Add Cress on Goodreads | Follow Marissa on Twitter @marissa_meyer | Visit Marissa’s website

Order Cress from Amazon | Book Depository | Chapters

122 replies »

  1. Han Solo. Hands down.
    This is actually the first series I’ve read that is partially set in space, and I adore it! I’m very excited for Cress, and very excited for some Cress & Thorne.

  2. Ack, the pressure! I can’t think of a favorite spaceship captain. Drat. But I did like Han Solo and Mal, although for Star Trek captains, I’d probably have to go with Picard or Archer. Probably Archer. (He has a beagle!)

    Thanks for the giveaway! :D

  3. I haven’t read many books based in space (though I do love Thorne), but I am a huge Star Trek fan! SO, I will have to say Captain Jean-Luc Picard!

  4. This is such a great poem. It’s interesting to see how the spaceship captain has been reinvented so many times and is yet still fresh and exciting with each new incarnation. New as he is, I definitely have a soft spot for Captain Thorne!

  5. As ever, my favorite space captain is Han Solo! But! My favorite series set in space are the Vorkosigan Saga by Lois McMaster Bujold (lots of space battles, and Miles is a joy to behold), and the Larklight Trilogy by Philip Reeve.

  6. Han Solo will always be my ideal man! How could he not?! Mal from Firefly is a close second. And as for Capt. Thorne… Well, he certainly kept my interest!!

  7. Archer from Star Trek Enterprise is my favorite space ship captain. My favorite books set in space are the Across the Universe books by Beth Revis. Thanks for the giveaway!

  8. My favorite space captain, really? We’ll I’ve got two actually, Captain Thorne from the Lunar Chronicles & Captain James T. Kirk from Star Trek, need I say anything else? :D

  9. Oh, tough question… I’d have to say Thorne is my favorite captain. I love what we’ve seen of him so far in Scarlet and can’t wait for Cress to come out so we get more of him!

  10. Normally I don’t like stories that are in space/sci-fi-y, but this one I love. I don’t typically like characters like Thorne but I’m hoping to be proven wrong with this too. I’m really looking forward to Cress.

  11. I’ve never had any crushes on any space captains or sci-fi characters except for Obi Wan Kenobi in Star Wars Ep 1 but I do like Captain Thorne

  12. I love the Firefly series so you should know who my favorite capitan is. And my favorite book series set in space is the Across the Universe series. :)

  13. My favorite space captain is Captain Thorne because it’s the only one i know and sorry i never watch Stars Wars or Stars Trek before.

  14. I love Han Solo and the Chris Pine “Kirk”, but you can’t beat the Expanse series by James SA Corey for space opera. Amazing.

  15. Favorite space captain… I never really had one. Captain Thorne is funny though and I like him. Ender count? Favorite books set in space… I know I’ve read a bunch of spacey novels before. They don’t come to mind at the moment though.

  16. I am so excited for Cress and seeing more of Thorne! I am glad that the entire fandom are pretty much Han Solo/Mal Reynolds fans. Best Captains ever, now accompanied by “Captain” Thorne.

  17. So excited for Cress! My favourite space book would have to be the Across the Universe Series by Beth Revis, but I’ve also heard great things about These Broken Stars.

  18. My favorite captain would hands down be Captain Tightpants. Er, Mal Reynolds. The character is multifaceted, just too pretty to die, and he’s a great man…good man…well, he’s alright!

  19. Okay, he’s not a Captain, but he’s still amazing! Major Tarver Merendsen from These Broken Stars. Srsly. He is everything that is good in this world!

  20. Hmmm. Favorite Space captain? Don’t have one. I don’t think I’ve heard of or read anything related to Space either.

  21. I don’t think I really have a favorite captain… but my favorite books set in space would have to be Beth revis’s a cross the universe series…

  22. Well Doctor Who travels through space…and time…can he be my favorite space captain? I mean he is the captain of TARDIS….haha

  23. This is my first… No I have read a space story before.. I think it was called hmm.. I forgot but it was a summer reading book for school about a kid name elliot who gets sent to space and he is able to talk to someone who lives in Africa. But this is the first space story that I like, more like LOVE! Thank you for the giveaway!

  24. My all-time favorite captain is Jean-Luc Picard! But I am currently watching Voyager and Captain Kathryn Janeway is now my second favorite captain.

  25. My favorite space captain would HAVE to be Captain James Kirk. I’m such a geeky Star Trek fan, I know. Whoops! :D

  26. My favorite space ship pilot is Han Solo and I don’t really have a favorite book set in space. I love the lunar chronicles! Can’t wait for Cress!

  27. I love Across the Universe by Beth Revis! My favorite series set in space! Also, my favorite space captain has to be Captain Jean Luc Picard of the U.S.S. Enterprise!

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  28. Mal or Han? Mal or Han? Too hard to choose! Books set in space? Not really, but featuring time in space? The Lunar Chronicles of course. I also enjoyed Academy 7 and that had a fair bit of flying. Thanks for the giveaway!

  29. Yeah… it would be Han Solo for me too. I just can’t help it! As for space books, I love Across the Universe by Beth Revis! That whole series is just amazing!!! I also recently read Enders Game and loved that to bits. Thanks!

  30. I honestly don’t have much experience with space captains before Thorne! I am going to say THORNE FOR THE WIN but also I have Firefly on my MUST WATCH list so maybe that will change :)

  31. My favorite Captain is Jeth Seagrave from Mindee Arnett’s Avalon book. My favorite book set in space would be These Broken Stars

  32. My favorite space captain James T Kirk and of course is my favorite Shatner. I am an old school girl, and a little bit of a nerd!!!

  33. Hmm… I do like Han Solo, but I also reeeeeally like Kirk (the new Kirk). I haven’t read very many books set in space, so I don’t know the answer to that.

    **Rachelle**

  34. I don’t have a fav space captain, but my definite favorite space book would be the Chaos Walking trilogy b Patrick Ness – amazing!!

  35. My favorite, as a huge fan of Doctor Who, has always been Captain Jack Harkness. His way of flirting is simply introducing himself. “Hi, Captain Jack Harkness, and you are?”

  36. Oooh tough question. Favorite space captain, let’s see: Can I say Thorne? He’s pretty awesome. :)
    I haven’t read very many books set in space, but I do enjoy all things space and sci-fi. It is my mission to find some!

  37. I haven’t read any books about space or captains, so by default I guess I’d have to say Captain Thorne and of course Cinder are my favourite! This series is really amazing so I might just indulge in a few other books about space to satisfy my new found curiosity on the subject!

Leave a Reply

